PRESS THIS: Witches and how they are silenced, by Heather Marsh

https://georgiebc.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/witches-and-how-they-are-silenced/

I have to admit, when I saw the title of this piece on the blogsite of a lady who used to be the Editor-in-Chief of Wikileaks, I was a little afraid that she was going to say that witches were complicit in the evil paedosadist rings that currently govern the world.

How relieved was I – and how educated did I become – on reading it, to find that she ties in the witch hunts and the Inquisition with the maleficent murder, torture, rape and evil across government and media lines – and with the entire subjugation of women (all the way since Lilith) much of it with thanks to that evil bastard, Pope Innocent VIII (he was the one that decreed in 1492 that all men were equal in the eyes of God unless they had a darker skin, and thus gave birth to racism).

It’s a complicated and long piece of writing, but she does a good job of making it make sense.

***

It so happens that I was perusing various ‘Wiccan’ sites over the last few days, and one page in particular caught my eye – an explanation that Wiccans have ‘the Wiccan Rede’ (an it harm none, do as thy will) and the ‘Rule of Three’ (what you send comes back to thee – three times) which, apparently, means that no Wiccan will ever attempt to harm someone with magic, unlike the entirely unresponsible, ethically questionable ‘traditional witch’.

Leaving aside the obvious naivety of that point, I felt more than anything that this kind of divisive ‘them and us’ attitude is at the core of most issues I have with any kind of religion that is organised. It feeds divisiveness, at a time when solidarity could be a better thing. We’re all okay, it’s everyone else that’s the problem. We’re better than those people because we have rules. We’re better than other people because we’re NICE. We’re good people.

Heather makes the point that even movements like Feminism – that are supposed to be standing up for the freedoms and solidarity of women – feed the continual break up of feminine power, by forming easily controlled groups. It is the outliers that are considered dangerous – and the feminist groups consider them so, similarly to the Establishment. The majority are packaged and controlled in the usual way, under the label of ‘feminist’ and instead of working to abolish the system that has for so many centuries subjugated women, they work to get women into the system, thus continuing the subjugation in a standard and approved manner.

The connection I’m making here may be a little vague-seeming – it’s late and I’m tired – but what I’m saying is that the witches that Heather is discussing from back in the day when women were the keepers of medical knowledge were, quite simply, not Wiccans. Wicca is a new religion, set up by Gerald Gardner in 1952. It is not the ‘old religion’ that some would have you think.

Traditional witches are not dangerous or scary per se. Traditional witchcraft is largely about harnessing the power of plants and correspondances (planets, timing, month, colours, sounds etc.), and using it for … well … whatever the intention is. Mostly healing and increased spiritual consciousness. With any luck, the intention is not to cause harm.

There is no rule of three as such (although what you put into something certainly does come back, so it’s best to put only positive energies into everything you do) – that was just a useful way for Gardner and his hopefully well-meaning friends to keep ethics at the fore of magickal practice, bearing in mind they were opening up knowledge that had hitherto not been readily known by large numbers of people.

Think of it like the Ten Commandments, or even the promise of heaven versus the threat of hell – all ways to keep people behaving, as if they must have rules to follow or otherwise they will all behave anarchically; as if, in order to have ethics, we must have dictats. We must be told what to do, because we are not supposed to think for ourselves. You know, Marx’s opiate of the masses.

As an outlier, a loner in the world of witchery (because I refuse to join any kind of dubious ‘group mind’ where I have no way of tempering others’ intentions), I have always until now kept my witchness away from the public eye. I’m probably a traditional witch. I call myself a kitchen witch; I make magic in my pots and pans. I have no desire to be picked out and dealt with by anyone (although I’ve had more than my fair share of practitioners who have had a go at ‘dealing’ with me, nearly no idea why), and little regard for the minds of any sheep to be found participating in ‘religion’, including Wicca. Critical thinking should apply to spiritual beliefs as well as Real World stuff.

I’m not an extremist and I don’t know if I’m dangerous. I never ever used magick directly against anyone. The thought fills me with horror, and I try to judge accurately the ethics of any situation where I have been forced to defend myself. (It’s a war out there, on an esoteric level, in case you were wondering what kind of world I live in. People seem to think they can use magick to ‘get’ people, just because they want to).

There are wars on all levels – some of which are at a frequency that most of us don’t see – and all are Real World, despite appearances. It’s a quantum thing.

So what?

If I can help in some way, to open up people’s minds, get them to see that there are alternative paradigms that are more relevant and far-reaching than anything proliferated throughout the mainstream, even if it’s just a little … then I’m glad and willing to do so.

Maggie Moon

What do you think?

