Get the benefits of meditation without sitting still!

Today I have to tell you about Ho’oponopono (ho-oh-pono-pono). As I promised you (and the Universe) a couple of months back, I’m here to share with you my spiritual uplift, and my path now leads me towards understanding the nature of love, gratitude and forgiveness.

I’m not saying I know it all; just telling you what I find out as I go.

I came across Ho’oponopono in about 2011, and it was described to me as something you can say every day, in any order, in English, and thinking about any issue that you have at the time. What happens when you say it is subtle in the extreme. You might not feel any different at the time. But just like with meditation you find that somehow things are different afterwards.

All you say is this (it doesn’t matter what order you say the phrases, just find one that is comfortable for you):

I love you.
I’m sorry.
Please forgive me.
Thank you.

When my mother had cancer, I said it whenever I found myself imagining the worst.

When I had difficulties with my dog, and I was frustrated with both her and me, I said it.

My mum is still here, insh’Allah, and my dog-girl and I now have a bond. These weren’t the only times I used it, but they bear as decent examples.

This isn’t whizz-bang magic, it’s everyday stuff, like spiritual glue. As with meditation, Ho’oponopono changes you, not the world around you.

All that’s needed is for you to say it. Say it when you’re stressed, when you’re sad, and when you have issues you don’t know how to handle. Say it anyway, even if you have none of those challenges to face.

I treat it like a mantra, repeating it over and over for a couple of minutes a day, but I don’t know how it’s traditionally used. I just know that inside the words is an intention, and that grows within you as they’re spoken out loud.

Why Ho’oponopono works

I’m not pretending to you that my way is the same (and has the same effects) as the traditional Hawaiian practice that has been done for thousands of years. If you change any part of a spiritual ritual, however subtly, you change its effects.

My way is probably as dilute as they come, but I promise, it still has a positive effect.

Each English phrase represents the essence of these four things: love, repentence, reconciliation, and gratitude. They come from the heart chakra, the place where your emotions, your desire to belong, and your need for love and to be loved, are found.

When you open up your heart to love, apology, a desire for reconciliation, and gratitude for everything you have, you open up your world.

Bright blessings, as always!

Maggie Moon

Image c/o bluebutterfliesandme.wordpress.com

What do you think?

