When meditation doesn’t seem to work for you, and how to boost its effects

The trouble with life is that it gets in the way of the spiritual stuff. Instead of chasing down enlightenment and locking it into place, the real world takes hold of you (unless you’re a hermit) and forces you into the pinball of daily existence.

Go to work. Fall in love. Change jobs. Move house. Have a baby. Have a third baby. Stuff happens. When are you going to fit meditation in there?

Even if you know that inside you is the capacity to be more spiritual, the things that happen are your life, and you’re here to live, so live it you do.

However, every time you meditate or do something else that works towards your spiritual fulfilment, you get a little bit nearer to enlightenment. To understanding what that means. The more often you do it, the more familiar it feels. It’s like creating a beautiful patchwork cloak for your spirit, one piece at a time.

Meditation brings me relief. Locked away from the world for 20-30 minutes, everything feels very peaceful. I presume it affects everyone differently, but I bet peace is a big part of everyone’s experience.

meditation2

Get an extra boost in your daily meditation

The 20-minute daily meditation that I wrote about a few weeks back is a silent affair, where all you need is a stopwatch, yourself, and the determination to do this every day for the rest of your life.

There are also videos on YouTube, and these may be guided meditations (watch out for the weird, creepy, or robotic voiceovers though), or there are videos of Tibetan singing bowls, or you can listen to binaural beats with isochronic tones.

I’ve noticed something about the effectiveness of the different types of meditation that I should share.

In the post about the 20-minute meditation, Leo said that it would take weeks or months to notice the benefits, and I disagreed, because I’ve always found it to be really beneficial super fast.

But having done 20 minutes a day for about 5-6 weeks, I haven’t noticed much difference in me in terms of the peacefulness I normally get. I have it directly afterwards, but it doesn’t seem to last or change the frenzied way in which I think.

So I went back to binaural beats for the last two days, and I’ve rediscovered the lasting feeling of peace and calm that I associate with meditation.

The 20-minute meditation is a good training ground for your spiritual practice, because it is as meditation is meant to be. Quiet and calm around you and in you, and nothing but peace.

Outwardly, the binaural beats couldn’t be further from that quiet place; there is constant sound throughout the track, but within the chaos there is a quiet and it’s easy to get the hang of it.  I know they open my chakras because I can feel it, physically, and I now get more out of them because I’ve become better at meditation because of my regularity of the 20-minute session.

They all work, there’s no doubt about that, it’s just a case of how powerful the experiences are for you. If you feel you need a boost, I urge you to find some videos that suit you and make your vortexes buzz.

But it’s always worth practising the plain video-free meditation to train your willpower.

Sweet life and bright blessings!

Maggie Moon

Image c/o reikienergyhealers.com

Inline image c/o aboutmeditation.com

 

What do you think?

