Forgiveness … How to forgive better (even when you’re still mad).

I’m big on forgiveness. I don’t believe in holding grudges, and I’m fairly straightforward as a person; if I don’t like you, it’ll probably be clear.

So it came to me as a surprise recently, when I realised that I do have a couple of grudges. It’s almost shaming to admit it.

With one of them, I’ve allowed the grudge to dictate (influence?) my behaviour, and managed to make the whole thing worse. With the other, I’m still in a safer position, determined to let it lie.

It’s scary though. When I think of people who habitually hold grudges, I feel sad for them, and a bit frustrated. Perfectly nice people who spoiled themselves, taking a nasty event into their spirit and letting it consume them just a little.

More than anything, I don’t want to be like them.

So how to escape the shackles of grudgebearing?

Dissolve the grudge energy

I can tell you right now, the only spiritual exercise I think worked to help with this is Ho’oponopono, an Hawaiian chant that dissolves the bad feeling and the negativity around a situation. I don’t even know if I ‘do it right’, I just chant the words (see the linked post above), sometimes focusing on my problems, and sometimes not. It’s a kind of spiritual place; a magic that overcomes and changes you.

The place you find yourself in is forgiveness.

See you there.

Bright blessings!

Maggie Moon

Image c/o rickmcnary.me/the-difference-between-forgiving-and-forgiveness

What do you think?

