Psychic attack: what that means to me and why I thank my attackers

Seriously, folks, don’t be horrid to each other. And when I say ‘each other’, that includes me.

When I set out to discover Wicca about 20 years ago, I didn’t know about psychic attack. Even when I read about it, I couldn’t imagine why anyone would want to attack me. Of course, I forgot about jealousy, didn’t I?

I learned that it can happen by accident, when someone’s mind is so powerful that they create thoughtforms without realising it – unpleasant thoughtforms that seek out the person being thought about and create havoc with their lives. I also learned that practitioners of magick sometimes do it on purpose. I learned that one the hard way. It wasn’t until recently that I learned how to deal with it.

Troll witches everywhere

My first real experience of a psychic attack followed a bitter fall out with a troll witch online about 10 years ago. I woke up one morning and realised I had spent the night in my dreams rubbing ground glass into my face. Not a pleasant experience; terrified me, bearing in mind the troll was thousands of miles away in the US somewhere.

I didn’t work much magic for a long time, preferring to stick to a few pagan ways that were safe, and leaving the magic to those who dared. I hardly touched it until I found myself dogged by an oppressive force almost two years ago – in fact I didn’t even realise that my terrible luck (money, jobs, career failure, anxiety, fear of losing home) was due to this until one day I contemplated suicide in my car, and twigged very suddenly that this was not me, not due to me, and was definitely the work of someone who wanted to cause me harm. I might be off the wall, but my mental health isn’t generally in question. Oddly, I also knew who it was, thanks to a bizarre lucid visitation in the middle of the night.

At which point I rustily read up on defensive magick, and constructed a somewhat shaky web of defence, something I had never known much about before, thanks to my naivety about what people are prepared to do to get their own way. My circumstances swiftly changed; confirmation that I had indeed been under attack, and my prospects brightened … for a while.

Double … even triple attack

Now, someone who claims they are constantly being attacked is probably not being. This is the general rule of thumb. Mental health is delicate at the best of times. However …

There are plenty of people with mental health issues out there who use magick; not a good idea, since magick itself tends to produce effects that are often seem related to mental breakdown. Added to which, ordinary people use magick for their own ends; even those who don’t regularly practice it are liable to use it when they feel there is no other way to influence a situation.

However, less than a year after, I saw some alarming portents, had some bizarre lucid dreams – more visitations – these people can’t resist showing you who they are – and became very physically ill for a short period, and very frightened. I lost work, money, confidence, and my love. Times were tough for a while, until I realised what was going on.

One reversal spell later, sponsorship from a goddess, help from a couple of very special friends (to whom I am eternally grateful), and we were back on track.

In fact, I was even better off than before, and have my attacker to thank for that. Thanks to those experiences, I finally found my path, through traditional witchcraft (not Wicca), and for that I am grateful. My way makes far more sense to me now.

I’m afraid my attacker is short on love and lovingness towards herself, and I’m sad for her. I’ve sent her Ho’oponopono a few times but nothing more defined than that. One thing everyone learns at some point when they work with magick: whatever is done to your environment or on to other beings in the environment will also be done to you (or similar). I am careful to say the ho’oponopono mantra when I think of this person, to disperse any lingering negativity. I have no desire to have a pound of flesh taken from me.

And yet … here we go again. More magick. More weirdness. Same attacker. It all seems so extreme.

What she doesn’t realise is that the only way to battle hate is to use love, copiously. I am not interested in having a fight; I have nothing to give but love (and Ho’oponopono).

I wish only to be let to enjoy my life the way I want to.

And what is that? If magick is so scary, then why do it?

Can magickal attack happen to you?

I am wholly unsure of the relationship between belief and effect. It seems to me that people who flatly do not believe in magick have some kind of natural barrier that protects them. However, by the same token, this is not logical, since as far as I know, magick works whether you believe or not, particularly if it is being done for or against you by someone else.

Magickal attack can manifest in your life as a series of chronic medical conditions or severe tiredness, things that can be easily mapped to your lifestyle or health in general (and may be nothing to do with magick at all). Critical thinking is essential for all safe and ethical magickal practice and understanding.

I use magick now because it delights me, and makes my life better, and because part of my purpose is as a communicator; a messenger. I am here to tell you about it.

However, the catalyst for my recent resurgence in magickal practice is mainly the prevalence of magickal attacks as detailed above. Throughout my life I’ve experienced other people’s jealousy; this baffles me – who would want to be me?! However, the jealousy becomes more potent when it is set alight in magickal fire, and so, because I believe; because I experience magick every single day, I am compelled to use defensive magick also, in order to guard myself. It was only because of my defences that I invited daily magickal practice into my life (and I am grateful to every one of my attackers for this).

I use my meditation in part to ensure control of my own mind and my own magick. Ethical magick is the only way for me.

So, the upshot of this post is this: strive to be happy, no matter what your assailants try to commit you to, love will always shine the brightest.

I leave you with this Max Ehrmann quote, which inspired me when I was just a student at university:

“Go placidly amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible without surrender, be on good terms with all persons. Speak your truth quietly and clearly, and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story. Be yourself. Especially do not feign affection. Neither be cynical about love – for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment it is perennial as the grass.”

Brightest blessings to all of you who read this.

Oh, and don’t take my word for it: this blog, threehundredandsixtysix.wordpress.com pretty much says it all too.

Maggie Moon

NB: couldn’t find the provenance of the crow picture online, so thanks to whoever made it possible, and if this picture is yours, please message me via the comments and I will add a credit for you.

What do you think?

